Ruhr Towns

The Ruhr

The Ruhr is colloquially called the District, Ruhr Pot, or short: the Pot.
With about 5.1 million inhabitants and a size of approx. 1.7 square miles, the Ruhr is the largest urban agglomeration in Germany, the fifth-largest in Europe.

It was named after the river Ruhr, which flows along its edge in the south.
The Ruhr consists of several cities and districts of North Rhine-Westphalia. Its borders werenever defined exactly and are therefore open to free interpetation. Generally, the term isused to denote these following:

the Cities of Bochum, Bottrop, Dortmund, Duisburg, Essen, Gelsenkirchen, Hagen, Hamm, Herne, Mülheim an der Ruhr and Oberhausen, as well as the Districts of Recklinghausen, Unna, Wesel and the Ennepe-Ruhr, which all belong to both parts of the state, Rhineland and Westphalia.

By the high population density, the Ruhr is also the richest area of geocaches in Germany, if not in the world no less.


Typical things of the Ruhr are, among others:

  • Homing pigeons and their breeders
  • The Ruhr dialect
  • Allotment gardens — the common man’s sanctuary
  • Chippies and kiosks — and the cult of the Curry-Bratwurst
  • Minings and winding towers
  • Steel corporations